A Possible Sunrise or The Seven Suns

A Possible Sunrise or The Seven Suns

A Possible Sunrise or The Seven Suns. Acrylic on canvas, January 2010

“After a last vast interval, a seventh sun appears, and then, monks, this great earth, and Sineru, the monarch of mountains, flare and blaze, and become one mass of flame. And now, from earth and mountains burning and consuming, a spark is carried by the wind and goes as far as the worlds of God; and the peaks of Mount Sineru, burning, consuming, perishing, go down in one vast mass of fire and crumble for an hundred, yea, five hundred leagues. And of this great earth, monks, and Sineru, the monarch of mountains, when consumed and burnt, neither ashes nor soot remains. Just as when ghee or oil is consumed and burnt, monks, neither ashes nor soot remains, so it is with the great earth and Mount Sineru.”
– Buddha
THE SERMON OF THE SEVEN SUNS
(ANGUTTARA NIKÂYA VII. 62)
http://www.sacred-texts.com/journals/oc/gppt6.htm


Details:

A Possible Sunrise or The Seven Suns (Detail)

A Possible Sunrise or The Seven Suns (Detail)

15 thoughts on “A Possible Sunrise or The Seven Suns

    1. Wow!!! Thanks so much for your comment!
      I’m really sorry for taking this long to respond. It’s the presidential election day here in Sri Lanka :)
      I haven’t thought about a price yet since I have no payment gateway to accept online payments :-( No paypal etc is available here in this country. That’s why I’m not listing anything on etsy either.
      All I intended was to exhibit it later this year with other paintings of this series. But I think this would be $200 + shipping if you are ok with money orders/personal checks. Size of the painting is 20″ x 30″.

  1. Hi, Lohang
    I like abstract painting a lot. I enjoy your style and the colors you use which are very bright and warm. I saw your website as well. You are such a talented artist!
    Micki

    1. Hi Micki!
      It’s a great pleasure to have you here on my blog and website. Your Taiwan blog is one of my top favorites :) And I’m really happy to hear you liked these paintings. Thanks a lot!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.